· 

Research Concept

In the past, this blog has been used in support of my photographic work in a number of different ways. While working remotely I shared a lot of my travel related thinking and soul searching adventures on these pages. In the past year this Space has been filled with my critical thinking regarding representation in photography and use of multimedia as a form of presentation. 

Now, to support my practice on architecture and climate change this site will be updated with my research supporting my work regarding these research areas:

 

1.Climate change and its influence on Architecture

 

2. Audience reactions/ education

 

3.Climate change and the general political situation and its display in the arts

 

Starting my research I'd like to concentrate on each of these areas individually and look at each section from different angles to support my discussion. Including my research into  secondary sources, I plan to then further investigate the areas in relation to each other and bring all sections together for the final debate.

 


 To guide my research into the right direction I have identified a number of different research questions to refer back to throughout my research. Since I am very interested in the subject of artist-audience connection I'd like to start my research here before moving on to the other two previously identified areas. Researching, the chosen subject should give me a lot of room to form an interesting debate while my photographic practice will also benefit by questioning my connection as an artist to an audience and how  I as an artist can move my audience in a certain direction. 

  1. Examining the concept of a changing climate and its representation through the creative industries how much does an audience rely on the artist to form their opinion? / how will architecture adapt to the changes? 
  2. How often and successfully are the visual arts used to communicate greater global, social or political issues to the general public?
  3. Global problems = Global exhibitions = Global recognition? 
  4. To what degree are political issues/climate change gaining impact through an artists work on the subject?

To find answers for the identified research questions, I looked for some useful materials and secondary sources mainly journal articles, book publications and some artist interviews to start my investigation with. The texts are ranging from classical works on photography like 'Regarding the pain of others' by S. Sontag to articles and books more focused on audience reactions to artworks as analysed in 'Resonate: present Visual Stories that transform audiences' by N. Duarte.

I also plan to include contemporary sources in my research like and take a closer look at the general display of climate change in the arts.

Analysis like 'Visual art as a way to communicate climate change: a psychological perspective on climate change–related art' by L. Roosen, Ch.Klöckner and J. Swim and 'Representing Nature: Art and Climate Change' by M. Miles will benefit my debate and be insightful to fully understand the  impact the creative industries have on educating society. 

 

To Begin this Journey,I’d like to start my research focused on exploring the relations of art and nature and more specifically the representation of climate change in the arts over the past two decades. By exploring this connection I will be able to draw connections between climate change and the art of photography and use this new input when mapping out my practice work. 

 

Once I fully understand the connection of art and climate change and had a closer look at some art works over the next few updates on this blog, I’d like to then move my research towards the area of general artist and audience communication as well as the genre of architecture. Analysing architecture my research will be centred on climate change related architecture as well as architecture as an art work or as the inspiration for art. 

 

By the end of this research journey I hope to not only answer the research questions stated above but also understand how artists can inspire audiences, call to action and work towards a more conscious society not just regarding climate change.

Comments: 0